CHARTER REVISION COMMISSION Colchester, Connecticut May 10, 2017 Town Hall Room 2 Meeting Minutes

RECEIVED COLCHESTER. CT 2017 MAY 11 PM 1:49

Laule Furman

Members present: Gregg LePage, Ursula Tschinkel, Sheila Tortorigi, Michael Minchlefferman Don Philips and Betty Wagner. Member excused: Monica Egan. Guests: Selectman Denise Mizla, Rob Parlee and Susan Dubb.

1. Call to Order. The meeting was called to order by Chairman Gregg LePage at 7:00 p.m.

2. Additions to the Minutes. None.

3. Minutes of the April 26, 2017 Meeting.

Motion to accept as presented by Mr. Philips. Second by Ms. Tschinkel. Vote: Five in favor. One abstention by Ms. Wagner because she did not attend. Motion passed.

4. Citizen Comments. Rob Parlee, chair of the Police Commission addressed the commission. He urged the commission to leave the Police Commission in the charter. He believes that the town should not have the ability to change the Police Commission and that it needs the protection of the charter to prevent that from happening. Susan Dubb, a member of the Police Commission concurred with Mr. Parlee. Chairman LePage thanked them for their input.

5. Debrief on Public Forum. The commission discussed at length the feedback that was received during the public forum on May 1, 2017. About 25 people attended. Most questions involved the potential questions asking the town electors if they wish to change the Town Clerk and Tax Collector positions to appointed as opposed to elected, as they are at present. A question regarding standardizing all terms of office to four years was also a topic of discussion. The commission decided not to hold another public forum before forwarding the final draft to the Board of Selectmen.

6. Continue Discussing Shipman and Goodwin Feedback on Draft Charter.

The commission discussed the recommendations from the town attorneys. The members agreed that the commission should plan to forward the final draft to the Board of Selectmen in June.

7. Citizen Comments. None.

8. Adjournment. Motion to adjourn by Ms. Tschinkel, second by Mr. Philips. The meeting was adjourned at 8:23 p.m. The next meeting will be May 24, 2017 at the Town Hall.

Respectfully submitted,

Betty Wagner

Betty Wagner, Secretary